animated movie Beauty and the Beast © Disney

Reviews for Beauty and the Beast

3.89 stars / 19 ratings
page: 1 | 2
J-Kitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 181

J-Kitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 27, 2009
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite French Fairy tales. I am terribly in particular about stories from different countries.

Based upon Madame Le Prince de Beaumont's famous fairy tale (with a few twists here and there), this film is about a beautiful young peasant woman named Belle is considered strange by the villagers because her preference for reading books and dislike of being courted by the local hero, Gaston, who is an egomaniac and 'positively primeval'. At one point Gaston offers his hand in marriage to Belle,but she rejects and this serves a hard blow to Gaston's ego.

While traveling to a fair, Maurice who is Belle's father and an eccentric inventor , becomes lost and loses his horse Phillipe in the night as wolves chase him. Cold and tired, he stumbles upon a mysterious castle and enters it. One by one, the enchanted household items, Lumière the candelabra, Mrs. Potts the teapot and Cogsworth the clock and head of the household warmly welcome him and shelter him from the cold. But a horrifying Beast discovers Maurice and, in a fury, locks him in a dungeon on top of the castle tower. Belle, who worries when Phillipe, returns home without him, decides to seek out her father. Eventually, Belle winds up at the Beast's castle. She finds him at the tower dungeon and tries to break him free, but the Beast catches her instead. She offers herself in exchange for her father's life, against his wishes. The Beast agrees and releases her father. That's all I could tell you folks, you will have to see the film for yourself how it ends.

I love the film's prologue, told in stained glass windows, with David Ogden Stiers' (Cogsworth) narration. And I also love the scene where Belle asks if she can see her father and the magic mirror reveals that Maurice is lost and sick in the forest. The Beast, having fallen in love with Belle, releases her to rescue her father; even though his heart is breaking and he would give up his humanity.

I do love Belle, beside being a bookworm (just like me, my mom and my grandmother), she is strong-willed, and not a slave to petty superficial things - being a house-wife and raising children. She is also independent and allow herself to see inner beauty without sacrificing her own values. Belle is a perfect role-model for girls. Beauty and the Beast was also the first animated movie to be nominated for the Oscar for Best Movie of 1991, and had an equally successful adaptation for Broadway in 1994.

Overall I love this film - from beginning to end, and you know, it's kind of hard to choose which film version of the story is the best I would say this version; the French version made in 1946 and the 1987 "Canon Movie Tales" version are the best to me.

CartoonLover's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 40

CartoonLover's Review

rated it:
posted: Dec 30, 2008
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

After seeing Disney's other greatest animated masterpiece, "The Lion King", I have to ask one question: Is it okay to skip another Disney masterpiece and watch another great Disney masterpiece? No, because like "The Lion King", this one is also memorable. Based on the France story "La Belle et la Bete", this is Beauty and the Beast.

The story tells about a bookworm female named Belle, whose father, Maurice, is an inventor that created a wood-cutting machine and it became a success. He leaves the house, but gets lost in the woods and after being chased by some wolves, he finds a castle and goes in where the talking objects appear and gave them a warm welcome. Suddenly, the Beast arrives and imprisons Maurice. Belle finds out about this after dealing with a pretty boy named Gaston and goes off to the castle to find him. There she makes an offer with the beast to take her father's place. Then, she realizes that the Beast is the prince, who has been cast by a spell by an enchantress for a few years with a Rose and if the Beast learns to love and the last petal falls, he and his servants will be human again.

After its success at the box office with $377 million dollars, Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson won an academy award for best original song and music composer Alan Menken won an academy award for best music in a animated feature.

The acting was brilliant, The animation and characters were memorable, The cinematography was great and The songs were so good and catchy you might end up humming "Beauty and the Beast" for at least ten minutes after watching this for eighty four minutes.

Beauty and the Beast is a fantastic animated Disney feature from the early classic 90s and its in no doubt memorable. Thumbs up from me.

10/10

Wanderingshadow's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 31

Wanderingshadow's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 08, 2008
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This movie is a classic example of Disney work. They take a fairy tale and create a movie so great that it becomes the definitive version. Beauty and the Beast is arguably the best movie to come out of Walt Disney Feature Animation since it's release.

The story is taken from the French fairytale of the same name. The movie touches on many different themes such as loving a person for what they are on the inside and the true nature of a "monster".

The movie includes many memorable characters besides Belle and the Beast including the villainous Gaston and comedic duo Lumiere and Cogsworth as well as Mrs. Potts and Chip.

The animation is beautiful, even compared to other Disney movies. The movement is fluid and the designs excellent. The artists show of their technical skill with the statues on the roof of the castle and the beautiful ceiling of the ballroom.

The music is also memorable, some of the best that Disney has ever produced. Perhaps the most popular is the song "Beauty and the Beast", which is still occasionally played on easy-listening stations today.

All in all, Beauty and the Beast is a fantastic film. If you have never seen it or haven't seen it in a while, pick it up next time you go to your video rental place. You won't be sorry.

Firefly's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 36

Firefly's Review

rated it:
posted: Sep 30, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Another beautiful Disney film. Based on the fairytale, a selfish prince is condemned to being a beast until the love a lady frees him. Belle's father is held captive by the prince and she goes to take his place. From there their unconditional love for each other blossoms.

ToonAnimator's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 5

ToonAnimator's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 18, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I admire this film. There are many reasons to adore this Disney masterpiece film. I will describe it in four words: Compassionate, warm, heartfelt and most of all, classic. The animation is simply breathtaking. Best Picture nomination is well deserve.

leoneb's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 18

leoneb's Review

rated it:
posted: Mar 22, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

A true classic, no less. It's everything wonderful here: the animation it's just brilliant, specially of THAT part of the climax. Some of the best character desgin works of Disney are here, and you can see it on Lumiere and Cogsworth - they're perfect! And the music, it's just the highest point of Alan Menken's career... no! The highest point of Alan Menken's life!

The story is arguably the most respectful adaptation of a classic tale that Disney ever made - I mean, the only real filler they put on this one was the cursed servants, which it's one of those rare cases when it's both a commercial and artistic idea; it really DO make sense, so it's the fact that the castle was also cursed, changing angels statues to demoniac gargoyles (man, this was genius!).

The characters are all well-constructed. Actually, Belle and Ariel are the only "Disney's princess" that I care about when I watch they movies. Although my personal trophy goes for Ariel, Belle it's a wonderful character - I mean, she reads! And she reads books! They were (at least, trying to) ruining a long time stereotypic here, ladies and gentlemen! Beast is a character that you really watch evolves through the movie - I don't think that were a better way to do this than the way Disney did it. A character that you really CARES about. And let me not forget about Gaston, which it's a marvelous well-balanced a cartoony and evil villain.

Anyway, let me stop this stream-of-passioned-talking, by just saying that this is a truly Must-See-Film. Watch it.

The Great Dragon's avatar
Reviewing Ninja
Reviews: 57

The Great Dragon's Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 03, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

What a classic. I just re-watched it, and I think there's something there that wasn't there before. Seriously, if I were to rate it, like Motion Picture Association of Kenneth (not my name) type, I would say PG. There is lotsa violence, and I saw a fair amount of blood visible, and then the scary images should have run it all the way to PG almost instantly. I don't think I had watched it since I was, like, 7 or 8, so now I understand what they're saying a lot more.
At one point, I had memorized the Gaston song. And the opening song was perfect. I like the way they used to do animated movies, like they were musicals. When I was about 10, I used to think all animation was done on a computer, because we had (and have) a 2d animation program called Pro-Motion on our computer, and I didn't learn that until I really payed attention to our special feature at the end of our Bambi VHS on how they made it. I think in the climax (were the Beast becomes the prince) was stunning. How did they do that glow with late 80's, early 90's technology?
The voice acting totally stole the show. The most well-cast was the Beast. He had the perfect voice qualities they needed for the job. Gaston sounded right. He was strong, deep-voiced, and the voice had conceitedness and rudeness that made the character,

Very good the millionth time in a long time.

Pat2's avatar
Toon Addict
Reviews: 76

Pat2's Review

rated it:
posted: Oct 31, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

If "The Little Mermaid" hadn't existed I would give this movie 4 stars. The film is inpecable, but is in some ways a copy of its predecesor. If you don't mind that fact, you really should go watch it, it's amazing for a 1991 film. But don't expect something different from what Disney made those days, the happy ending is garanteed. Also a midquel was produced: "Enchanted Christmas". If you have seen "Beauty and the Beast", why not see that one as well?

greykitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 193

greykitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 23, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This is definitely one of Disney's best. The animation is stunning. I was able to see this one on the IMAX and it was well worth the money spent on the ticket. There is so much detail put into everything. The characters are all easy to like, or hate in the case of Gaston. I also really liked the Beast's character design of all the different variations I've seen of that character, I liked this version the best.
The music is great, all the songs are very memorable and the score is very moving. The only song I didn't really care for was "To Be Human Again" which was added in the special edition release on DVD. It didn't really add anything to the movie, but it also didn't take away from it either.
Anyways, it's a really great movie. Definitely one worth owning.

Toonboy's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 315

Toonboy's Review

rated it:
posted: Nov 01, 2003
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I've always said that music should never be the most important part of an animated movie. Especially since the gentle, melodic songs that were carefully woven into the movies died out with Walt and got replaced by over-the-top extravaganzas. To me, a great animated movie is defined by the characters and the story, and maybe somewhat by the fun factor and animation. So is it actually possible that the songs and music make a movie great? They do in Beauty and the Beast, Disney's first and last true Broadway musical.

While in movies like The Little Mermaid or The Lion King, Disney admirably tried to go for fun, exciting showstoppers, most of the time the songs come off as carefully written kiddy or pop songs with a little too much energy. Beauty and the Beast is Disney's one and only movie that actually understands the feel of Broadway(although Aladdin makes a wonderful attempt). The songs are really fun and executed with style. The characters bring the songs to life instead of making them seem overly sappy. I especially love it when Mrs. Potts breaks into her rendition of "Beauty and the Beast."

The animation is also nothing to sneeze at. After the decidedly cartoony animation seen in The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast marked the return to gloriously detailed animation reminiscent of old school Disney. The dark and dusty castle of Beast. The sunlight forest and rolling grasslands near the beginning. Of course who can forget that famous ballroom scene where Belle and Beast are dancing for the first time? When the "camera" swoops around the pair like you were watching a live action movie and you spot that chandelier, it takes your breath away. I love how this movie integrates traditional animation with just the right amount of computer effects.

Of course strip away the songs and the animation and what are you left with? Pretty much every single Disney formula ever seen. Cute furniture that talk. A dopey, airheaded father figure. A Barbie figure beauty finding romance. And the battle in the castle is proof that even Beauty and the Beast isn't adverse to injecting moments of seriousness with cutesy slapstick. I'd rather wish Disney use such formula items in small doses.

But of course I'm generalizing. The characters are still cute and lovable, and not a sidekick type to be seen. And if it wasn't for Lady and the Tramp, Beauty and the Beast would have Disney's best love story because Belle and Beast's relationship is natural and their characters grow and develop over the course of the movie. Belle actually hates Beast at first instead of falling in love at first glance like so many of the other Disney movies.

I wouldn't call Beauty and the Beast Disney's best movie. It's a little derivative of many of the Disney movies that came before, and it's the progenitor of the modern Disney formula that I sometimes roll my eyes at in certain other movies. However the movie still works on so many levels. It's enchanting and emotional and fun. A truly wonderful movie.

page: 1 | 2