animated movie Aladdin © Disney

Reviews for Aladdin

3.71 stars / 17 ratings
page: 1 | 2
lonely_princess's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 106

lonely_princess' Review

rated it:
posted: Dec 24, 2011
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

For a full length cartoon featuring some remarkably hip animation, it's amazing how Robin Williams's performance as the Genie steals the show, his ad-lib vocals a perfect match for the beautifully constructed Disney visuals.

I really like the carpet aswell, for a geometric shape it has the best emotional animation.

CartoonLover's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 40

CartoonLover's Review

rated it:
posted: May 06, 2009
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Aladdin Was The Best. I Used To Watch The VHS Tape Of It 7 Years Ago When I Was 8 Years Old. It Was Great. The Voice Actors Who Voiced The Famous Character Including The One And Only Robin Williams Were The Best. Aladdin Is The Best Animated Movie In 1992 And It Will Always Be The Most Famous Movie Ever.

The Great Dragon's avatar
Reviewing Ninja
Reviews: 57

The Great Dragon's Review

rated it:
posted: Apr 07, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

What a classic. This is one of those musical ones, the kind that I love. In fact, the music is awesome. The Genie (who else?) is my absolute favorite character in this movie, and the delivery of lines was awesome.
This was actually one of the first films that used CGI in its traditional animation, along with The Lion King. I long for the days back when, when there were 2d animated features for all to enjoy, with fun and catchy songs. I can't remember the last time I saw a 2d movie on the big silver.

ToonAnimator's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 5

ToonAnimator's Review

rated it:
posted: Feb 05, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This is one of the most best classic films ever done by Walt Disney studios. Even though some changes were done on the original story of Arabian Night tale (with good reasons), it is still an excellent and heartfelt movie. This film deserves four stars, both for animations and characters.

Pat2's avatar
Toon Addict
Reviews: 76

Pat2's Review

rated it:
posted: Oct 31, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This is one of my Disney's personal favourites. The animation is excellent (although that's expectable from a multimillion dollar film). The voice talent of Robin Williams as the Genie is the best. The only problem I see in him doing the voice of the Genie is that Disney hired more celebrities to do their film's voices instead of career voice actors.
Back to the movie, it is extremely funny. If you are among the few who hasn't seen it I'd recommend you watch it now. You won't be dissapointed. This movie greatest flaw is its predictibility, because is a Disney film and also because it's from an era when they all ended the same way (happy ending for everyone, and love triunphing against all odds).

Lucky_Bob's avatar
Toon Addict
Reviews: 78

Lucky_Bob's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 12, 2005
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Excellent movie! Great animation, fun songs, and cool characters. This has got to be one of my favorite Disney movies. Too bad there were some REALLY bad sequels made.

greykitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 193

greykitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Oct 31, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I've always enjoyed this movie since it first came out in theaters, and I believe it is one of Disney's greatest. It's animation, the cast, and the story are right up there with the Lion King and Beauty and the Beast. It has a great story, and most of the characters have quite a lot depth to them. I think that Robin Williams was perfect for the Genie. I can't picture anyone else being able to voice Genie as well as he did. This is a great film and I'd recommend it to anyone, adults and children.

suchaditz56's avatar
Fledgling Reviewer
Reviews: 8

suchaditz56's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 28, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

i've always wanted to be princess jasmine! i love this movie just cause she has a tiger and she's so thin! :)

lupercal's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 517

lupercal's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 24, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Though it's just starting to show its age, 'Aladdin' was Disney's first, and possibly best film of the 90's except for 'Tarzan'.

Flashback to 1991: Disney had spent two decades in the doldrums, though the 80's had shown marked improvement over the 70's. It wasn't until 'Little Mermaid', and 'Beauty and the Beast' at the turn of the 90's, that the New Disney emerged as a really major box office force. Riding the crest of this wave, 'Aladdin' became the first animated film to make $200 million at the box office. To this day, it remains the second highest grossing non-CGI animated film, behind 'The Lion King' . It was the first real animated blockbuster. 13 years later, does that success seem deserved?

For the most part, yes. 'Alladin' is beautifully animated, funny, exciting, well-paced, and if it isn't _quite_ up there with the absolute creme of Disney features, it isn't that far behind.

I would also say that 'Aladdin' was Disney's first 'postmodern' comedy. That is to say it was steeped in irony and pop culture references which were probably quite startling at the time. All those wise-cracking sidekicks with incongruous accents that were regular fixtures in animated films for the rest of the 90's (and beyond: think Donkey in 'Shrek') could arguably be blamed on that damn parrot, too. Whether this is something you'd want to applaud or curse the film for is another matter.

Disney also really pulled a rabbit out of the hat by casting Robin Williams as Genie. He's so good, it's hard to think of him as a supporting character, and Williams' maniacally paced delivery is wonderfully supported by the rapid-fire visual gags which accompany them. Along with the parrot, Genie was something of a first: a totally, hilariously incongruously modern persona slotted into a centuries-old setting.

There is so more to like about 'Aladdin': the Magic Carpet recalls some of the classic character animations of Disney's golden age in the 40's. The emotion conveyed by a character who not only has no voice, but no facial features nothing at all except a rectangular surface which bends in certain ways, is a study in great animation.

On top of that, it's filled with colour, romance, there's rarely a dull moment... it hits its marks most of the time.

So are there any flaws? Yes, though fairly minor ones. perhaps the romantic aspect could have been a little more intense and heartfelt, and the songs fall a little below the standard of the rest of the film. None of them are bad, but few of them are going to end up stuck in your head like some of Disney's real classics either - mind you, I'm not sure when the last time Disney had a song in a film I'd call a 'real classic' anyway.

The only other things working against 'Aladdin' today aren't really the film's fault. The postmodern pop-culture references and wisecracking Brooklyn-accented bird might have been exhilerating at the time, but we've seen it all many times since.

Still, sitting in the middle of Disney's late 80's/early 90's resurrection, and being the only comedy from that period, 'Aladdin' pretty much deserves its reputation, and still looks pretty darn good today, even if the lustre is starting to wear off a bit.

note: I have revised this review. Originally I gave 'Alladin' 3.5 stars, but like I said, the lustre is starting to tarnish a bit.

JHawkinsFan's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 13

JHawkinsFan's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 01, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

A top favorite on my list of Disney films. The characters are lovable and the story progresses smoothly. It also has awesome songs that I can't stop humming after watching the movie. It never gets old and I could watch it over and over. I definetly suggest this to anyone!

page: 1 | 2