animated movie 101 Dalmatians © Disney

Reviews for 101 Dalmatians

3.35 stars / 17 ratings
page: 1 | 2
Question's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 42

Question's Review

rated it:
posted: Jun 23, 2011
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Oh.
My.
God.
This is one of my fave Disney films of all time. I remember seeing this, borrowing a old VHS from my mom's boss. I fell in love instantly. The voices were fantastic, and who can't say no to Pongo? <3
The music wasn't THAT great, but I still enjoyed it.

The only change from the book to movie I didn't like was the whole Perdita/Misses name change...eh.
The animation was quite lovely, I loved how consistant they stayed with the spots.

The comic relief was actually amusing, and they had a strong female character that wasn't just added for the lulz.

Along with Anastasia, this movie is one of my faves. It is something you must see and read if you are a abid reader.

CartoonLover's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 40

CartoonLover's Review

rated it:
posted: May 08, 2009
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I Have 101 Dalmations On Video. I Watched It A Couple Of Times When I Was Eight Years Old. It Was The Best. The Scene Where Cruella's Scary Face Scared The Heck Out Of Me. My Favorite Characters Are Roger, Anita, Pongo, Perdita, Lucky, And The Rest Of The Characters Except Cruella Because She's A Mean Person. 101 Dalmations Is The Best Animated Movie Ever.

wildanimals's avatar
Animated Enthusiast
Reviews: 47

wildanimals' Review

rated it:
posted: Jul 02, 2007
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Although it falls flat at some points, 101 Dalmatians has always been a favourite of mine. Maybe it is the scratchy style of the artwork that does it, maybe the delightful personalities of the characters, or maybe the entertaining villains. Who knows?

Based on the brilliant book by Dodie Smith, it's the familiar tale of the cute little dalmatian puppies escape across the wild and snowy countryside, in a desperate race against time.

Full of imagination, humour, and just plain charm, this is a must see for all Disney fans. No, it's not Walt's most thought-provoking effort, but it's waaay better than what modern Disney can think of nowadays.

The Great Dragon's avatar
Reviewing Ninja
Reviews: 57

The Great Dragon's Review

rated it:
posted: Dec 06, 2006
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This is an ok movie...watchable. I definitely liked the live action one better. There have been far worse movies-ones I would call negative star movies. One of which is "The Big Rock Candy Mountains", an annoyingly happy movie that runs and hides from all plot.
I have also seen far better movies, but as far as the story goes, perfectly fine. I didn't like the voice of Nana or the foley much, but it's not that bad.

Overall, it's just medium.

lonely_princess's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 106

lonely_princess' Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 15, 2005
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

If u don't go dotty over this film then something is wrong with you. The animation is brilliant there are parts where my husband who dosent know anything about animation thought it was cgi such as the ice on the river and the snow falling.
The charectors are endearing u actually want to cheer them on.

Also watch out for the lady and the tramp cameos which i thought was a nice touch even if they did just recycle old animation.

greykitty's avatar
World Class Animation Critic
Reviews: 193

greykitty's Review

rated it:
posted: Jan 02, 2005
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

This was one of my all time favs growing up. I used to watch it every week. My parents figured I'd wear the tape out so I had two copies of it.
Like most movies that are based on a book, it doesn't follow it very closely, but that doesn't stop this film from being good.
The characters are memorable, animation is good, and voice acting is excellent. One thing that stands out about this film is it's not a typical animated Disney musical. The movie never has the animals singing. The only songs sung are by Rodger, and he only sings maybe twice, and it's just because he composes music.
The animation is nice. It has a sketchier look to it, as that was the style Disney was using back then. The soundtrack is pretty much the typical 60'-70's score. So it's simular to many of the animated film scores that came out before and after Dalmatians.
Overall it's a very good movie and if you haven't seen it yet rent it.

lupercal's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 517

lupercal's Review

rated it:
posted: Aug 18, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

I think 101D is a classic, if not perhaps, quite a masterpiece. I don't have any problem with the sketchy feel of the backgrounds and the drawings. To me it just lends the film a distinctive style, which actually is very consistent with the early 60's, if you go back and look at magazine illustrations, advertisements and cartoons from the same period.

I find the characters charming, the story well-paced and memorable, and nothing about it annoys me. The one song (did I mention I'm not fond of song-fests) is not only terrific, but its integrated into the plot/scene and almost into the dialog in a really clever way, which doesn't break up the narrative to insert a song, as most Disney films do.

For some reason I always thought it was particularly cool that the puppies watched a Rin-Tin-Tin type black and white hero on TV, and that the actor that 'played' him was made a character in the sequel (even if I have a sneaking suspicion Disney nicked this idea from me. Check 'Bob's Demented Alsatian' part four, on my homepage.) )

As a matter of personal curiosity, I would note that this film came in the early stages of Disneys "set a film anywhere except the US, and preferably in England" period. Curious. In fact, as far as I can work out, Disney have only ever set ONE movie ('Oliver and Company') in the US, in the same period as the movie was made.

(the others, which were offset chronoligically by decades if not centuries, were Song of the South, Lady and the Tramp, The Fox and the Hound, and Pocahontas. Did I miss one?)

Historical note: 'The Lion King' is usually regarded as Disney's greatest hand-drawn animation success, because it grossed over $400M. Consider this, though: that was about 6 times what it cost to make. 101 Dalmatians has grossed nearly _35_ times its production costs. Lion King is going to have to sell an awful lot of DVD's by 2036 to beat that.

anya's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 11

anya's Review

rated it:
posted: Jun 14, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

nice movie, the main characters are not the best. The movie is known for Cruella, and we understand when we see the movie ! In spite of I love animals and can't hurt them, I can't prevent me from like her, because of her look, fury, vocabulary... and her two accomplices Horace and Jasper are really funny !

Panra's avatar
Mad Scribbler
Reviews: 12

Panra's Review

rated it:
posted: Jun 04, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

Imagine having 15 puppies, plus the 2 parents. In my world, I'd be happy for life, being I love dogs. Now oimagine you gain custody of many other, and your final count is 101!Id be ready to die and go to heaven then and there.I loved 101 dalmations when i was younger, I had stuffed animals of Pongo, Perdy, Lucky, Penny, Rolly, Two Tone, Spot, and Patch. At one point I could name all the names, atleast the ones they said in the film

Toonboy's avatar
KF Animation Editor
Reviews: 319

Toonboy's Review

rated it:
posted: Apr 17, 2004
Share this review
Share review on Facebook

101 Dalmatians is truly a one-of-a-kind Disney movie. It was animated with a new style used during the time that made the movie cheaper to produce yet beautiful. Animating all those spots and puppies is a masterwork of technique. The movie doesn't have the sparkle and depth of field in its animation as Disney's earlier works, but the stark, nearly all black and white, comic book look with its sharp angles gives the movie a very unique look. The movie also doesn't have much in the way of music, but the song "Cruella Deville" still stands as one of Disney's most memorable ever created. However what makes this movie stand out is its very well written, solidly told story. The story of the dalmatians' quest to dodge the clutches of the persistent Cruella is very gripping and dramatic. In fact if it wasn't for Cruella, this movie probably wouldn't be as memorable as it is. She's arguably one of Disney's finest villains. Her fiery, insane rage where she loses control and crashes is one of the most frightening and memorable sequences ever in a Disney movie.

page: 1 | 2